Yellopig Is Free

Or, Recreating A Life From Scratch

Midwinter Blues

I knew it would come to this, and I prepared ahead.

20150125-163750.jpg

These are Desert Tansyasters (Arida arizonica), and there are almost always some of these blooming around the yard somewhere. Since I get pictures of these almost every month, I hadn’t been showing them, since there was always something else to show you. January, though, is flowerless this year — dreary and cold. OK, not cold compared to other places, but enough to make me feel a bit cranky. And I so miss the sunshine.


Fortunately I have a few pictures saved up, so you get to see them now. These are from September. First I have Fringed Amaranth (Amaranthus fimbriatus):

20150125-170209.jpg

I have loads of this growing wild out in the yard.

20150125-171439.jpg

It makes edible seeds which I hear you can cook & eat like oats or barley. For now, I just let the birds have it. I think of it as a kind of back-up crop which I hope I never really need.

Every month some new and different little plant seems to have its moment at center stage. After the summer rains stopped, this little plant suddenly became extremely noticeable, with its red stems and furry white leaves.

20150125-172038.jpg

This is Woolly Tidestromia or Honeymat (Tidestromia lanuginosa or maybe Cladothrix lanuginosa), and it’s related to the amaranth above. Its flowers have 5 yellow sepals and no petals:

20150125-172637.jpg

The leaves do look really wooly, don’t they? I have loads of this too, but I don’t think it’s edible.

20150125-174225.jpg

It’s easy to miss the little plants though, when those above are overwhelming the landscape. I try to walk around very slowly, so I don’t miss things like this:

20150125-175421.jpg

See those little white flowers? They’re hiding under the prickly pear. It’s Chiricahua Mountain Sandmat (Chamaesyce florida), a kind of Euphorbia. Very pretty little flowers.

20150125-180047.jpg

20150125-180016.jpg

And by the way, say Chiricahua as cheery-COW-ah, in the Anglo pronunciation. 😉

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Midwinter Blues

  1. solarbeez on said:

    Are there bees on any of those flowers? I would hope the amaranth would have some. Around here there are precious few in January although I do see my bees returning with pollen so they must have found some.

    • The pictures are from September. BUT!! Just last week we had a day in the mid 70s, and as I was sitting out in the yard, a bee landed on my knee! I think it was my lavender soap that caught her interest. I let her walk around until she figured out I wasn’t edible, heh. I could hear more bees too, but I couldn’t find any flowers this month. I’m glad they found something though 🙂

      I saw your bees bringing in pollen in your videos! Multiple colors too, so you must have several things blooming. I enjoy your videos a bunch.

  2. solarbeez on said:

    Thanks, yes, they are bringing in some pollen, from where I don’t know…possibly gorse which is orange, but also some kind of ‘natural’ color. I’m so lucky because I can watch the bees during the winter. So many beekeepers must kiss their bees goodbye for the winter months and hope for the best.

Speak into the keyboard.

