Yellopig Is Free

Or, Recreating A Life From Scratch

Day 1

If you’re going to have a blog, you should write on it. Make a note.

I want to have a blog, so I’ll have to start writing. But (as a warning), I’m not very good at this at the moment, so you’ll have to wait through a bunch of nothing entries until I start making some sort of sense.

One thing I want to write about is my garden — that would be, my future garden, since I don’t actually have a garden yet.

You see, I’ve just retired. Yesterday. So today, suddenly I have not only nothing to do, but the list of things to do stretches to infinity (both conditions at once!), to include all the things I couldn’t do while working. And, of course, one of those things is having a garden. Some of my time is being spent browsing the University of Arizona (written UofA; don’t make me tell you again!) Agricultural Extension site, investigating just how difficult it will be to grow useful things here in the desert, and learning of the vast amount of effort that will be needed to get the local dirt in shape to produce foods I’ll want to eat. Someday.

I’ll also be getting a dog, so you’ll probably be hearing about that. I’ll also be getting the piano tuned, which activity will probably take away from time spent here, so there’s that, too. But I don’t have a TV — well, I have a TV (two, in fact), but they don’t get a signal out here, and the satellite company severely let me down last year, so the point is that I don’t have that time-waster to distract from writing. Or gardening. Or the piano. Or the dog.

NO! I’m not really stacking up too much to do, and as we go along, you’ll see how truly lazy I am, and how little actually gets done here.

And finally druidry, which I’m studying at the moment. I know, it’s a religion of oak trees and damp places, but its emphasis on nature and yearly cycles and being in sync with the actual world around you appeals to me now. And I have some significant atonement to be done regarding my occupation over the last decade or so, and I think some deep Earth reconnection is in order for me just now. It’s still possible that I’ll find out how unsuited I am for Druid practice, or something, maybe. We’ll see.

So I think that’s what’s going to be happening here. You can stay and watch if you want, or not, as you like. I promise not to be offended if you just quietly slip out the back. In any case, I’m going to try to be here most days, yammering on about something or nothing or beans — who knows as this point?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Hello, So the name “yellopig” please explain. Mine is a play on harvesting (reaping) since I’m a Permaculturist.

    I’m not Druidic, but I am Pagan. So welcome welcome fellow magical folk!

    • Yellopig is kind of a math joke.

      In high school I went to math camp at Ohio State University, back in the days way before it was even called “math camp”. The Mathematical Logic course (or maybe it was Topology?) used one of Spivak’s textbooks. (I hope that link thingy works right.)

      Mathematics text books tend to have long series of equations used to demonstrate facts about numbers or systems. To break up the monotony, the author often stops after a page or two and makes some remark about how the rest of the proof being discussed is “obvious to the casual observer” or “left up to the reader”. Spivak’s proofs often ended with a line like “because the Yellow Pig says so”. The Yellow Pig was cited in the bibliography of the text as a source. By the end of the book, one got the impression that the Yellow Pig was all-knowing, and always correct. We loved it, and it became a theme for the summer. Or I think we’d call it a “meme” now.

      I’ve been using Yellopig as an Internet handle since the early 90s. Back in those days, I also knew all and was always right. Lately, heh, not so much 🙂

    • Also, ::waves:: to the fellow pagan. Thanks!

Speak into the keyboard.

